Letters to Emerson.

Emerson,

You could come at any time now, and it just boggles my mind that in 60 days or less, you will be in my arms. I think you are growing as impatient as I am, as your strengthened jabs and movements are becoming more pronounced and frequent. You are getting so incredibly large now, taking up most of my abdominal space. Normal activities like eating, breathing, walking, and sitting, are becoming more and more difficult due to your impeccable size. I hold zero resentment in that, as I feel so incredibly blessed to have you.

There are so many activities that are approaching that we will embark on! Tomorrow, we will be celebrating the conception of Baby Darveoux! Riley and Alex were married in May, and have been gifted with a little one of their own. You will have another friend to play with, and I could not be more thrilled. On Monday, I will FINALLY get to see you again! By then, it will have been 13-14 weeks since I had seen you inside of my belly. I cannot tell you how excited I am to see your wee face in 3D/4D detail. It may be one of the last times I get to see you before you arrive, so time seems to be passing very slowly in anticipation. Unfortunately, your daddy will not be able to attend this reunion, but your ‘Auntie’ Holly will be there in support. On Tuesday, your daddy and I will begin classes at the hospital to teach us about the birthing process. The first two sessions will focus on childbirth, what will happen at the hospital, what to expect in terms of delivery, etc. The third session will teach us about my recovery, what that process looks like, how long it will take, and so on. The fourth class will inform us about taking care of you, and all of the many nuances that go into that (swaddling, installing a car seat, changing a diaper, etc.). The final class, where I will be at 36 weeks (insanity!), we will get a tour of the hospital, and they will teach daddy and I the ins-and-outs of breastfeeding. I am so incredibly nervous for this, as so many mothers struggle with this natural, and amazing act. I yearn for us to have that intimate connection that comes through feeding, and do not want to fail you. I am also nervous based on the fact that I am a modest soul. Feeding will challenge me in ways I am not sure how I’ll handle, but I pray with God and Gavin’s support, I will come through for you. I cannot wait to complete these classes with your daddy. I think it will really grow and equip us as parents, and will be a fun experience.

That following Saturday is your first shower! I cannot believe that it is finally here! Our closest family and friends will gather to celebrate your [oh-so fastly approaching] arrival. I have been hearing the most exciting things about your shower, and cannot wait to see how it turns out. The days are going to crawl by!

Emerson, I am so excited to meet you. I am not intimidated by the responsibilities of parenthood, as I know that our Heavenly Father will watch over us, and guide us through this as a family. I have nothing but complete and utter impatience and joy for you to come. I cannot wait. I love you.

Leave a Reply

