It’s been a while.

 

My apologies for not posting in so long…again, life was taking up my time and the blog-world had to take some time off.

So much has happened! Emerson is almost six months old! I cannot believe it. He is HUGE, and I anticipate to find out his percentiles at his next appointment. He has begun to sit up and roll (although hasn’t mastered either), is a drooling mess, and loves to listen to himself talk. I love his personality, and he is my favorite person to be around (other than my husband…I guess *wink*).

Speaking of spending time with my favorite person, I’ll be doing a lot more of that come May 3rd. As of that day, I will be a stay-at-home-mommy!!! When Gavin and I got married, we decided that me staying at home with our children would be a high priority. For the first six months of Emerson’s life, we had to compromise since Gav was still in school. Now that he’s graduating (another great upcoming event!), we have been blessed to have the opportunity for me to be at home with Emerson. It will be a huge change. I have always been a busy person, either working or in school full-time. Taking a step in this direction is definitely going to take some time getting used to. Now my full-time job is going to be mommy-and-wife-hood, and I couldn’t be happier.

 

Many people look down upon stay-at-home-moms. There is this belief that everybody needs to have a full-time income, and be career (not family) focused. I am not saying this is everybody, but unfortunately, is the increasing norm. I have had some people voice their concerns about my choice:

What are you going to do without that money? –None of your business

What are you going to do all day? –Sit on my butt and eat popcorn…NO! Take care of my child and pour all of my resources into developing his mental, social, physical, and spiritual health.

Repeat…Repeat…Repeat…

I have had the blessing of being close friends with a few stay-at-home-moms. Their lives are so fulfilled, their children are incredibly smart and happy, and they are doing perfectly fine. They are not struggling to keep food on the table. If I am lucky, I will experience the benefits of my new ‘job’ like they have. Will it be hard? YES. But, I cannot continue to spend my days staring at a computer screen while my little boy is living much of his life without his mommy.

My current employment was not my career choice, but was a temporary job that had some amazing financial benefits for where Gavin and I were when I was hired. My job provided us with a home, the ability to reduce some debt, generate some savings, and have a child. I am so thankful that I have had this job, and typically enjoy my work. My employer has been very supportive of my choice to be at home with Emerson, and I am so thankful for their encouragement.

I already have some goals in mind with the new change in my life. I’m going to try and not stress about doing them, which I have a bad habit of doing (making lists, and feeling like a failure if I do not complete them with haste or at all). Of course my top priority with me Emerson’s caretaker, and then I hope to do other things like: get the house where I would like it, scrapbook my pregnancy and the first year of Emerson’s life, work on my photography, reach my fitness goals, continue and develop ministries that I’m involved in…Look, I already have a full schedule!

 

Anywho, I am genuinely happy about the change, and look forward to it very much.

Some upcoming things I am looking forward to:

Emerson eating solids! This is something I’ve been holding off on till I am at home. You can wait till they’re 6 months (it’s actually recommended), and he’ll be almost that age when we get him going. It’ll be a mess, and it’ll be glorious. Pictures will definitely be posted.

Emerson swimming! It’s been in the 100’s here in Arizona, and the pool has been looking incredible. Em already has some swim gear, and I think I’ll bust it out soon.

Gavin’s graduation. I am so proud of my husband. He has been so challenged with being a full-time student and church planter simultaneously. Both are extremely time consuming, and you add being a dad on top of that…sheesh! Superman here…I am hoping that when he finishes school, he can take a deep breath, and enjoy a little bit of calm. He deserves it.

 

Well, here are some photos to end the post:

Image

Emerson Rolling.

Image

Big boy can hold his own bottle.

Image

Look at this handsome boy!

Image

Loves his jumperoo!

Image

He loves going on walks!

Image

Girls night for my bestie’s birthday.

Image

I thought this was cool. Made a compilation of my pregnancy pics. What a difference from start to finish! Have a great day everyone!

2 thoughts on “It’s been a while.

  1. Annie says:

    I LOVE the fact that you’re going to stay home with Emerson. I hope to do that someday too when I have my own little ones. I may not have seen you since you got married, but I know that you’re an amazing mother and Emerson (and Gavin!) is lucky to have you stay home with him. :o) ❤ PS He's SUCH a little cutie!!

  2. Annie says:

    That was supposed to be a smiley face… 🙂 Haha oops.

Leave a Reply

